What is Phelan-McDermid Syndrome?

Doctors Kathy Phelan and Heather M.Dermid, are two US researchers who discovered the Phelan-McDermid syndrome in the 90s thanks to new techniques of DNA decomposition, which allowed to see the infinitely small.
They used a technique called the CGH Array that allowed them to see these small deletions on the specific chromosomes causing Phelan-McDermid syndrome. At the time, other simpler methods were only able to detect deletions of a certain size but not the smallest ones. Nowadays, microchip test can be used to detect this syndrome.
Humans have 22 pairs of chromosomes and one additional pair of XY sex chromosomes. And, Phelan-McDermid syndrome is a micro-deletion on chromosome 22 , i.e. a loss of DNA sequence on the end of the long arm (q) of chromosome 22. This loss includes the Shank3 gene (also called PROSAP2) which plays an important role in the connection of neurons in the brain. SHANK3 gene codes for a protein involved in the functioning of the synapses of the cerebral cortex and the cerebellum.

The three kinds of Phelan McDermid syndromes

There are three kinds of Phelan-McDermid syndromes:
1. The first type is caused by a loss at the end of the long arm (q) of chromosome 22
2. The second type is caused by loss of both two ends of the long arm which meet in a ring
3. The third types is caused by loss of genetic material on the long arm in addition to some additional genetics from another chromosome (translocation).

Depending on the size of the deletion on chromosome 22 and the exact position of the deletion, we can generally know which genes are missing. On the other hand, the functions of these missing genes are often not yet known.
See list of genes

Characteristics of Phelan-McDermid syndrome

Characteristics of Phelan-McDermid syndrome:

Every Phelan-McDermid child is different but most have a learning disability.
- Delay in motor development and learning ability.
- Delay or lack of language acquisition
- Decrease or absence of muscle tone
- Growth from normal to fast
- 80% of people with the syndrome have an autism spectrum disorder.
- A permanent chewing or biting habit
-Epileptic seizures can occur with age with sometimes subtle signs.

Right now, too few people with Phelan-McDermid syndrome are old enough to have a full understanding of its full spectrum.
In the United States, The American Foundation for Phelan-McDermid Syndrome, with whom we work closely and support, is in charge of listing all the people diagnosed on an international registry which eventually will help research. This registry shows that the number of people diagnosed is increasing every year. You can follow the global distribution of people with Phelan-McDermid syndrome by clicking here

* PMS: Phelan-McDermid syndrome

pms_clinical-care_french
pms_clinical-care_french

press to zoom
pms_clinical-care_french
pms_clinical-care_french

press to zoom
1/1

Qu'est ce que le syndrome Phelan-McDermid?

Les docteurs et chercheuses Kathy Phelan et Heather M.Dermid, ont découvert le syndrome dans les années 90 grâce à la progression de la science avec des nouvelles techniques de décomposition de l’ADN, permettant de voir l’infiniment petit.
Le test appelé la CGH Array permet de voir ces petites délétions sur les chromosomes, tandis qu'un simple caryotype ou un test FISH ne permet que de voir des délétions d'une certaine taille mais pas les plus petites. On parle aussi de test micro-puces permettant de déceler ce syndrome.
L’être humain possède 22 paires de chromosomes plus une paire de chromosome XY. Le syndrome Phelan-McDermid est causé par une micro-délétion sur le chromosome 22, c'est-à-dire une perte sur l’extrémité du bras long(q) du chromosome 22, avec la perte d’une partie du matériel génétique dont le gène Shank3 (aussi appelé PROSAP2) qui joue un rôle important pour la connexion des neurones dans le cerveau. Le gène SHANK3 code pour une protéine intervenant dans le fonctionnement des synapses du cortex cérébral et du cervelet.

Les trois sortes de cas du syndrome PMS

La grande majorité des cas de patients PMS* sont de novo, c’est-à-dire sans hérédité des parents.
Il existe trois sortes de cas:
- perte de l’extrémité du bras long
- perte des deux extrémités qui se rejoignent en anneau
- perte du matériel génétique sur le bras long et présence de matériel
génétique supplémentaire venant d’un autre chromosome (translocation).

Suivant la grandeur de la délétion sur le chromosome 22 et la position de la délétion, on peut savoir quels sont les gènes manquants, par contre la recherche scientifique actuelle n'est pas encore suffisamment avancée pour connaître toutes les fonctions de ces gènes manquants.
Voir liste des gènes

Signes caractéristiques

Signes caractéristiques:
- Retard de développement moteur et capacité d’apprentissage.
- Retard ou absence d’acquisition du langage
- Baisse ou absence du tonus musculaire
- Croissance de normale à rapide
- 80% des personnes atteintes du syndrome ont un trouble de spectre autistique
- Un mouvement de mastication ou de mordillement permanent
Chaque enfant est différent mais la plupart ont un trouble d’apprentissage.
Des crises d’épilepsie peuvent survenir avec l’âge avec des signes parfois subtils. 

Pour l’instant trop peu de personnes suffisamment âgées sont connues, pour avoir du recul sur le devenir des personnes atteintes.
Aux États-Unis, une fondation a été créée La fondation Américaine du syndrome Phelan-McDermid. Elle est en charge de répertorier toutes les personnes diagnostiquées sur un registre international pouvant servir à la recherche scientifique, et le nombre de personnes diagnostiquées augmentant chaque jour vous pouvez  vous inscrire et suivre la répartition mondiale en cliquant sur : ici

*PMS : Phelan-McDermid syndrome

pms_clinical-care_french
pms_clinical-care_french

pms_clinical-care_french
pms_clinical-care_french

1/1